What Isn’t Tried Won’t Work

“One thing is certain, what isn’t tried won’t work.” –John Mason

That is this week’s message. Yes, a pretty simple one and probably one you already know. If you don’t try something, you are never going to know whether it worked or not.

I get to thank Carrie Minturn for sharing with me the concept of Try. A dad shared this concept with his son in an effort to focus on trying. Think about it, most inventions, progress in science, or multimillion dollar companies were certainly not created on the first try.

What I’ve observed is that people can get caught up in continuing to plan, plan and plan. I’m not against planning; I’m pro taking a step forward. This very action of taking a step reminds me of one of my favorite mottos: Better Done Than Perfect.

I also believe people don’t try because they have a pattern of not completing what they started. I found this great article while doing some research. How to Get Out of Your Own Way and Finish What You Start

The part of the article that really stuck out for me was: You Haven’t Moved to the How. This is when you commit to doing something but fail to plan for how you’re going to do it. What are the steps? How much time will it take? Does it cost money?

What are your thoughts, are you prone to planning excessively or do you leap without much thought only to not complete what you started? Are you all about the tries or are you stuck in being perfect? I would love to know, feel free to email me at info@ninaobier.com

I am Nina Obier- Your Leadership Liaison. The link between where your INFLUENCE is and where YOU want it to be!

GO Step Out In YOUR BRILLIANCE!

“Soft Skills are the Hard Skills in Life” be sure to download my new e-book for FREE!

Let’s Connect.Create.Communicate

“Let the MAGIC Into Your Life” Motivation, Accountability, Guidance, Inspiration and Community. 

“Listen.Learn.Love.Lead” My journey in life with humility and grace.

Leave a Reply

