To Be Young Again

“One of the most sincere forms of respect is actually listening to what another has to say.” -Unknown

Ahhh to be young again… oh no, I wouldn’t want to be young again! How stressful it is that we believe the only way we can communicate is through our phones, through text. So much gets lost in translation.

Why am I bringing this up? This past week I worked with two separate groups of teens between the ages of 12-17. I worked with them on speaking. Each of them had to come up and give a one minute impromptu speech on a topic I gave them when they were standing right next to me.

Oh the lessons that I learned from watching these teens go from petrified to excited. Watching the audience connect with each other, encourage each other and cheer each other on. There was laughter and love. I taught them how to give feedback, share what they loved and what the teen could do to be even better. It was amazing. We are longing for this connection and communication.

Put Down Your Phone. That is what my daughter and her friends said that they loved most about the cruise they were just on. They couldn’t use their phones, only to take photos.

I know I am not the first person to discuss this revelation. I found this great article while doing some research. 5 Reasons to Put Down Your Phone When You Are Not Alone.

The part of the article that really stuck out for me was: eighty-two percent surveyed by Pew admit that the use of phones in social gatherings frequently hurts the conversation. Yet many people unknowingly engage in these activities.

What are your thoughts about putting down our phones? I would love to know, feel free to email me at info@ninaobier.com

I am Nina Obier- Your Leadership Liaison. The link between where your INFLUENCE is and where YOU want it to be!

GO Step Out In YOUR BRILLIANCE!

“Soft Skills are the Hard Skills in Life” be sure to download my new e-book for FREE!

Let’s Connect.Create.Communicate

“Let the MAGIC Into Your Life” Motivation, Accountability, Guidance, Inspiration and Community. 

“Listen.Learn.Love.Lead” My journey in life with humility and grace.

Leave a Reply

