Power of Pause

“The right word may be effective but nothing has ever been as effective as a RIGHTLY timed pause.” -Unknown

The Power of Pause….what do I mean by that? What I mean is we are so busy talking AT each other instead of WITH each other. I believe there is power in the PAUSE.

For me the pause means so much more. When I do pause, I know I have more of a Positive Attitude. Also, in the pause, it is where you really start to Understand. Understand yourself and others. The pause is very powerful when you are Speaking, giving a speech or looking to gain people’s attention that pause, draws them in. Especially, the pause helps us Engage. Truly engage, instead of talking AT each other, WITH each other.

I know I am not the first person to discuss the power of pause. While doing some research I found this great article- The Art of Pausing

The part of his article that I loved was when he asked this question:

“Do you sometimes say things you later regret when you ‘fill the gap’ during a lull in the conversation with words that are long on syllables but short on meaning?”

The article also cited one of my favorite quotes which I use in my “Stop Talking, Start Connecting” workshop. “Wise men speak because they have something to say;fools because they have to say something.– Plato.”

What are your thoughts about the PAUSE? I would love to know, feel free to email me at info@ninaobier.comI am Nina Obier- Your Leadership Liaison. The link between where your INFLUENCE is and where YOU want it to be!

GO Step Out In YOUR BRILLIANCE!

“Soft Skills are the Hard Skills in Life” be sure to download my new e-book for FREE!

Let’s Connect.Create.Communicate

“Let the MAGIC Into Your Life” Motivation, Accountability, Guidance, Inspiration and Community. 

“Listen.Learn.Love.Lead” My journey in life with humility and grace.

Leave a Reply

